RSS

Simple is the more Powerful

20 Jan

Simple: The More Powerful

I’ve observed how close to helplessness a normal human being is without him knowing. There’s a situation where you experience the dislocation or sprain of a finger and the whole hand becomes incapacitated. It’s illogical to design a machine and make very huge parts almost extremely dependent on the tiniest ones. At least that’s what I thought. Conventionally though, it’s very reasonable to design huge parts to be made up of a combination of a lot of smaller parts. I’ve heard of a place on the human body-a small knob of bone on the chest called the solar plexus. A blow on it knocks an individual down and maybe out, even perpetually and I wondered why the designer will put so much into such a small knob. A little malfunctioning of a small component of the human body causes so much discomfort. Medical science had no answer for many years to the question of the function of a small human part called the appendix in the human body. All they knew was that it could get inflamed and cause a dangerous condition called Appendicitis. The tiniest bone in the human body is in the ear and when it’s not there, the whole system can’t hear a thing. I’ve tried to phantom out a reason for these, but really, I think it’s just the designers way of saying ”simple is the most powerful”.

As an engineer, it’s not strange to me that science has also adopted this philosophy in the design of things. A small spark plug powers a big engine. I’ll want to believe the same applies to writing. When I used to fall into the temptation of trying to write some big philosophical  book. It never came together but when I wrote from my heart how I felt, somehow people saw the mystery of it and commended it. A writing devoid of heart is a helpless baby missing a small part.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on 20/01/2014 in Uncategorized

 

2 responses to “Simple is the more Powerful

  1. livelytwist

    20/02/2014 at 3:57 pm

    Loved this! One of my favourite mottos for writing is KISS, keep it so simple. I wish I adhered to it always. But if our aim is communication and not showmanship, then simple is the way to go. But simple doesn’t mean unintelligent, or lacking literary devices.

    You’ve summarised it beautifully, and I couldn’t agree more:
    “A writing devoid of heart is a helpless baby missing a small part.”

    Like

     

My Dear, your thoughts worth MUCH MORE than a PENNY to me, please say it......I appreciate it and I want you to just SAY IT....

 
