RSS

Miss Jackson and The Talk About Fetish Jealousy – Is it a Blacks only theme?

06 Mar

Outkast. Picture from http://www.billboard.com

 

One of the most successful musical singles of all time is the song by American rap duo, Outkast titled “Miss Jackson”.  The song chorus goes like this:

I’m sorry Miss Jackson (oh)

I am for real

Never meant to make your daughter cry

I apologize a trillion times.

I remember the theme of the song and the story portrayed in the song’s video. I’ll categorize it all as fetish jealousy. Now what’s fetish jealousy, you ask. Well, the story in “Miss Jackson” says there was a woman named Miss Jackson and she had a daughter who got pregnant for a “no-good” boy in the neighbourhood. One of Miss Jackson’s main troubles with the boy is that, he isn’t from the same neighbourhood as her family. This is evident in the line that says “She …..like having her boys come from her neighbourhood”. Miss Jackson insists on taking custody of the baby and the baby’s mother (her daughter) and she insists the boy pay all sorts of bills. That’s responsibility and it turns out the boy is able to pay up all the bills but Miss Jackson keeps asking for more until she eventually goes to court and it is revealed that she holds expensive birthday parties in the name of the child and doesn’t invite the baby’s father. She hosts fish frying parties and cookouts and even when her daughter decides it’s time to go live with her husband and the father of her child, Miss Jackson refuses. Her daughter gets angry and stops speaking with her. The boy accuses Miss Jackson of jealousy, infidelity, envy, cheating and beating because as you may have noticed, Miss Jackson was never married to any man. She preferred to remain single and have several men at her beck and call. She is also known to be fetish. Hence, the phrase, fetish jealousy. She used fetish means to make sure her demands her met and jealousy is what drives her to ensure her daughter isn’t happily married to the man she loves. This sort of story I know is not really strange to an African.

Virtually everyone I know has someone in their family whose description fits that of Miss Jackson, maybe not a mother-daughter or mother- son in law relationship but definitely that fetish, jealous and envious part shown to a lesser relative. I confess that I have someone in my extended family that we all see to have that. In actual fact, when I watched the Miss Jackson music video, I was shocked for Miss Jackson looked very much like the person in question physically.

However, I’ve seen the concept of a “Miss Jackson”- relative consistently replayed in many black movies and music videos. Well, maybe as Mr Jackson in some cases. In fact, recently honoured Nigerian actress, Patience Ozokwor, is stereotypically played in that role and has gained international prominence playing such roles in probably up to a hundred movies (no exaggerations). But I’ve really not seen the concept played in a non-black video and I begin to wonder is this a peculiar thing to the black race? How real is the existence of familial fetish jealousy in this age? Is it simply another outdated mentality that is being over-played instead of being relegated to a dying position.

Your opinions do count.

PS: My first novel will be published on 14th March, 2014 and I will appreciate it greatly if you’ll be one of my first readers. I promise it’ll be sold at a relatively low cost and I’ll put up the links as soon as it’s available for sale.

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on 06/03/2014 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

My Dear, your thoughts worth MUCH MORE than a PENNY to me, please say it......I appreciate it and I want you to just SAY IT....

 
