RSS

Scamming the Scammers

08 Mar

Proudly Nigerian

I really don’t like the fact that I have to put up this post on my blog. Y’know as a patriotic citizen of Nigeria wholoves his country and has enjoyed the indignity of entering an online forum of engineering professionals carrying high his national identity like a halo above his head only to notice that several people started logging out of the forum as quickly as they would if the devil had just come in carrying a “666” brand.

I also do not like being unable to transact any business on any of the leading online stores or payment sites like paypal, Amazon etc. I’ve come to accept it as part of the cross I have to bear. At least, Jumia and Konga are coming up fast. Then someone told me that I can’t even send money with Western Union Money Transfer if I’m in Nigeria.

Well, it’s all part of the things that made me unwilling to post this. I thought, “Now more people will know it through me that Nigeria has good fraudsters”.  But wait, which country doesn’t have good fraudsters. I heard that Kim Kardashian was paid almost 80million naira by Darey Art Alade and co to perform in Nigeria (I didn’t even know she was a singer). Then she came to Naija and dropped at Muritala Mohammed Airport, said hi to a few people at the Airport who recognized her and then she was on the next flight out of the Niger Area with 80million Naira safe in her account. No apologies. No regrets. WoW. Then I heard of Mariah Carey. Paid about 50million Naira (not sure) to perform for Christmas party by a Nigerian bank that had just laid off hundreds of its staff because they couldn’t afford to pay them. She came in, did a few oohs and aahs and suddenly vanished from the venue while the bank executives sat down waiting for more. They obviously thought they had paid a stripper….lol.

So I told myself, I’m not ashamed to say my own!

I also scammed a scammer. He sent me a message on facebook using a name that sounds like Jama Durango to tell me his name is really Doris and he has seen my profile and she likes hardworking people and achievers and she wants to tell me something privately in my e-mail. She tells me his e-mail address and encourages me to mail him. I tell him to check out my blog at www.humanetech.wordpress.com and read the posts and try to follow using his e-mail. Then I will communicate. He checks my blog but doesn’t follow but now he knows I know his motives. Who says you can’t scam the scammers? Yes, you can.

PS: I’m not in anyway in support of fraud. This is just for laughs and be nice to Nigerians when you meet them. Many of them are honest. I truly wish you’d believe that.

My first novel will be published on 14th March, 2014 and I will appreciate it greatly if you’ll be one of my first readers. I promise it’ll be sold at a relatively low cost and I’ll put up the links as soon as it’s available for sale.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on 08/03/2014 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , ,

6 responses to “Scamming the Scammers

  1. imperfectlyperfect92

    10/03/2014 at 3:05 pm

    waiting for the link to the book sir, kudos! more grease!

    Like

     
  2. livelytwist

    08/03/2014 at 9:32 pm

    Any one who listens to world news has already heard about Nigerians and advance fee fraud and maybe received a few scam emails as well. Scammers are everywhere. It is unfortunate that we have been labelled. A few good ambassadors can leave another impression on one person at a time.

    I didn’t hear about the ‘celebrity frauds’ 🙂 Shame too, when the organisers could’ve paid local artists.

    Like

     
    • Tito Tobi

      09/03/2014 at 8:29 pm

      That’s a good point and I really believe we can make that good impression on the world by going one person at a time. About the ‘celebrity frauds’, It’s a shame. I guess our people have a long way to go when it comes to appreciating local talent.

      Liked by 1 person

       

My Dear, your thoughts worth MUCH MORE than a PENNY to me, please say it......I appreciate it and I want you to just SAY IT....

 
