RSS

14+1 Quotes from Albert Einstein

14 Mar

The 14th day of March is the birth day of many special people and this time I think it’s only nice to share 14 quotes that evidently shaped the life of Albert Einstein as described in his own words. I have also added a special one quote for all the people who were born on this same day as the man who as been described as the greatest Jew to walk the earth after Jesus Christ. I guess you’ll also find it interesting to know that today is Pi Day if you write your dates American styled, (3.14). Enjoy.

  1. When you are courting a nice girl an hour seems like a second. When you sit on a red-hot cinder a second seems like an hour. That’s relativity.

 2. I shall never believe that God plays dice with with the world.

(Einstein’s objection to the quantum theory, in which physical events can only be known in terms of probabilities. It is sometimes quoted as “God does not play dice with the Universe.”

Letter to Max Born)

3. Education is that which remains, if one has forgotten everything one learned in school.

4. Desire for approval and recognition is a healthy motive but the desire to be acknowledged as better, stronger or more intelligent than a fellow being or fellow scholar easily leads to an excessively egoistic psychological adjustment, which may become injurious for the individual and for the community.

(Ideas and Opinions, “On Education,” address to the State University of New York, Albany)

5 To me the worst thing seems to be (that) a school principally works with methods of fear, force, and artificial authority. Such treatment destroys the sound sentiments, the sincerity and the self-confidence of pupils and produces a subservient subject.

 

6. The real problem is in the hearts and minds of men. It is easier to denature plutonium than to denature the evil spirit of man.

7. Marie Curie is, of all celebrated beings, the only one whom fame has not corrupted.

8.  God does not care about our mathematical difficulties. He integrates empirically.

 

 9.  It seems hard to sneak a look at God’s cards. But that he plays dice and uses ‘telepathic’ methods (as the present quantum theory requires of him) is something that I cannot believe for a single moment.

10.I am enough of an artist to draw freely upon my imagination. Imagination is more important than knowledge. Knowledge is limited. Imagination encircles the world.

 

 11. If I were not a physicist, I would probably be a musician. I often think in music. I live my daydreams in music. I see my life in terms of music…I get most joy in life out of music.

12. Unless Americans come to realize that they are not stronger in the world because they have the bomb but weaker because of their vulnerability to atomic attack, they are not likely to conduct their policy at Lake Success or in their relations with Russia in a spirit that furthers the arrival at an understanding.

(Following its establishment in 1945 the United Nations General Assembly met temporarily in Lake Success, New York State, pending the setting up of a permanent headquarters.)

13. If I had known that the Germans would not succeed in constructing the atom bomb, I would never have lifted a finger.

(Referring to his efforts that eventually helped in making the first atomic bomb)

14. If only I had known, I should have become a watchmaker.

(Reflecting on his role in the development of the atom bomb)

15. You imagine I look back on my life’s work with calm satisfaction, but from nearby it looks quite different. There is not a single concept of which I am convinced it will stand firm, and I feel uncertain whether I am in general on the right track.

 

 
2 Comments

Posted by on 14/03/2014 in Biographies

 

Tags: , ,

2 responses to “14+1 Quotes from Albert Einstein

  1. christinachase

    18/03/2014 at 12:25 am

    These are great! My favorite Einstein quote: “Coincidence is God’s way of remaining anonymous.”

    Like

     

My Dear, your thoughts worth MUCH MORE than a PENNY to me, please say it......I appreciate it and I want you to just SAY IT....

 
