RSS

What it Takes to Be A Writer

14 Mar

Today is the 14th of March, 2014, I will always remember it as the day i published my first novel which although is not my first literary piece, it is my first effort into making writing something public that people will read and judge. Here are a few facts about my newly published book which is now available here on smashwords:

Title: When We Made Men

Number of Pages: 73(A4)

Editted: 642 times

Number of Words: 28210 words

Started Writing: May 2, 2013.

Now, many friends ask me occasionally about how much goes into writing a book, especially fiction. Well, my responses have always been unsatisfactory for them, that I can tell looking at their faces when I give my response. I’ve often told people that it really doesn’t require much; maybe a good mastery of your language, a wide imagination and willingness to put down your thoughts (solitarily or otherwise). The truth is people expect writers and storytellers to be a lot more than they are. We are ordinary people who just take a chance with their imagination. That’s it – we take a chance. When you’re in any field of creativity, you do your best. I often ask myself what makes James Hadley Chase novels different from other similar crime and detective novels, maybe the seductive covers. Same goes for many other writers, so don’t get me started. Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie recently stated that she didn’t put much (of her creative self) in Americanah, well, nobody knows that now.

So back to what you want to know about what you should do if you want to be a published writer, be courageous enough to put out your thoughts and say what you want to say. Don’t fret over how it will be accepted and asking me the same question several times. I leave you with a thought from Charlie Chaplin.

 

Also, remember to check out my novel and if you are resident in Nigeria, it may take an extra week before you are able to purchase due to the fact that payment on smashwords is only through paypal and you know, paypal don’t trust us, I hope they learn how to some day.

 
7 Comments

Posted by on 14/03/2014 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: ,

7 responses to “What it Takes to Be A Writer

  1. Maggielola

    07/04/2014 at 7:15 pm

    Wow I’m happy for you! A lot does go into writing and a simple, eloquent reply doesn’t do justice to the intense effort that goes into making a beautiful piece. Thanks for sharing this, Tito!

    Like

     
    • Tito Tobi

      11/04/2014 at 12:09 pm

      My pleasure. U’re welcome always. Thanks for the kind words.

      Like

       
  2. livelytwist

    15/03/2014 at 7:55 pm

    Congratulations Tobi, you took the plunge! The title and summary on Smashwords seem intriguing.

    Like

     
  3. paulettemotzko

    14/03/2014 at 8:47 am

    Reblogged this on Writer's Work Lab.

    Like

     
    • Tito Tobi

      14/03/2014 at 9:01 am

      Thanks Paulette for Reblogging.

      Like

       
      • paulettemotzko

        15/03/2014 at 2:28 pm

        You are so welcome Tito. My pleasure.
        Paulette Motzko

        Like

         

My Dear, your thoughts worth MUCH MORE than a PENNY to me, please say it......I appreciate it and I want you to just SAY IT....

 
