RSS

Will Jezebel Make A Better Wife Than You?

11 May

In the last 100-150 years, there has been a great increase in the call for ‘the liberation of ‘ and so the ‘Women’s Liberation Movement’ came to being. Women got voting rights and the rights to work in factories came in World War II. Posters like this became popular and I heard it motivated the men on the frontlines to win the war in 1945.

Which man wouldn’t be motivated by this, anyway.

Candidly, I’m impressed and happy with how far the world has come from the days of burning women at the stake for trumped up charges of witchcraft. Simply, I think the world rulers at the time were simply afraid of the influence women secretly wield over men. Another theory I heard says that the Catholic church at the time carried out ”the witch hunt” out of fear that there was a woman who existed and was alive and carried a blood that could be traced to Jesus Christ, thereby undermining the power in the Son of God. Check Dan Brown’s novel, ”The DaVinci Code” for deeper theory but keep in mind that it’s a work of art and bears the imaginative thinking of Dan Brown and maybe some conspiracy theorists.

Back to my main topic, the title women’s liberation has gradually given way to a new word ”feminism”. Many celebrities are feminists and the word has become trendy. Twerking Technology Graduate, Miley Cyrus is a feminist (always remember that) and Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie has encouraged everyone to be feminists and Beyonce Knowles is a feminist and many other names, many of them good people but a friend once said, ”I think women have been liberated and we’ve graduated to the era of feminism, where every thing masculine is evil and all things feminine are good”. It does make some sense to me.

Some weeks ago I read a report that stated that Chimamanda refused to be recognized by her husband’s surname because she is a feminist. It’s really not my business, it’s her family’s business. I don’t believe in enslaving women to men too. Many of my newly-married female friends also don’t completely drop their maiden names, we hear stuff like Mimi Toye-Akintoye (because she is a feminist) but sometimes, maybe sometimes I think if we go back to Bible days, there were some really radical women who were really ”liberated” and ”independent” in the real sense of the words but it made them better wives to their husbands. My person of focus is Jezebel, arguably the epitome of all-time wickedness but I also think she was arguably the best wife in the bible. Read this:

KJV-R (Webster) 1 Kings 19:1 And Ahab told Jezebel all that Elijah had done, and withal how he had slain all the prophets with the sword.

KJV-R (Webster) 1 Kings 19:2 Then Jezebel sent a messenger unto Elijah, saying, So let the gods do to me, and more also, if I make not thy life as the life of one of them by to morrow about this time.

It’s clear Jezebel never tolerated any body making her husband unhappy and it wasn’t for her personal interests as shown in the story of Naboth’s vineyard. She wasn’t interested in the vineyard but Ahab was unhappy that he couldn’t own the vineyard and that made Jezebel concerned. Many feminists today wouldn’t even notice if there husbands came home unhappy. Twice in the Bible, Ahab sulked, Jezebel noticed and she acted. I always imagine many wives today will shrug and say, ”well, it’s a business between you and your clients, handle it”.

Also, in 1 Kings 21:1-9, the Bible consistently referred to Jezebel as ‘‘the wife of Ahab”, only later did we realize that Ahab had over 70 children from other people he was married to and there is no record of a child from Jezebel(as much as I read). Jezebel obviously made it clear that she was ”the wife of Ahab”, kids or no kids. Many of our feminist’s today wouldn’t even know when their husband is being led astray by other women. He can cater for himself anyway.

Ahab was a King and he was supposed to turn his heart and pray to God whenever he had problems but he never did and the Bible records that Jezebel stole his heart to other gods. Imagine! How many feminists can even steal their husbands hearts away from even the most boring football games. Yet when the time comes, they’ll like to have ”equal rights” and multiply the family name by two (because they are feminists).

My point is women are doing themselves a lot of disfavour trying to be feminists. You’ll probably get the attention but you’ll lose influence where you need it the most. Being feminine is a gift and being masculine is a gift, don’t leave your cake and try to eat another person’s. Rather use the gift you have the absolute best way you can. Be a woman and be proud that world governments will cringe at your unsung influence. Don’t try to diminish another’s ”obviously open” influence, it only shows you’ve been psychologically defeated. I wouldn’t want my daughter to be a feminist by Miley’s definition though.

I know I may get knocks for this one but make it soft.

 
7 Comments

Posted by on 11/05/2014 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , ,

7 responses to “Will Jezebel Make A Better Wife Than You?

  1. livelytwist

    14/05/2014 at 12:27 pm

    Sensitive topic and you are bold for taking it on and expressing your views.

    Like

     
  2. storiesofourboys

    11/05/2014 at 10:17 pm

    Thanks for the good read! I hate Jezebel because she was an evil idolator that led her husband, and therefore Israel, away from their God, BUT I love your point. Women can use our influence to do great things for our husbands, and we should.
    Miley might think she’s a feminist, but as far as I’m concerned she’s just a whore.
    I totally agree with your point here.

    Liked by 1 person

     
    • Tito Tobi

      13/05/2014 at 1:12 pm

      I really appreciate your comment. How I wish more women knew the influence they have on the world.
      There’s a campaign going on in Africa asking First ladies to influence the despotic leadership of
      their husbands and it seems like it could be the eventual answer to Africa’s problems.
      However, more women want to be independent of their husband’s business(for feminism’s sake) 🙂

      Like

       
    • Tito Tobi

      10/09/2014 at 1:26 pm

      Thanks for a lovely and detailed viewpoint. I’ll definitely love a woman who understands and wields her influence appropriately.

      Like

       
  3. laurapalmer98

    11/05/2014 at 6:53 pm

    I think this is certainly an interesting perspective on feminism, so thanks for writing it. I also don’t like Miley’s feminism myself. I mean, each to their own, but yuck 😛

    From the feminist perspective, I do think some generalizations have been made here. I mean, I care about whether my partner is unhappy; feminism isn’t about putting yourself before others as much as it’s about equality, so if I’m happy I want them to be equally so, and I’m more than willing to take the time to listen and try to help with stuff going on in their lives. As for husbands cheating, well, would anyone notice? Unless they leave little post it notes saying “meet such-and-such for affair at 2pm” I highly doubt a person would. Generally speaking most people trust their partners not to do that, so they explain their unusual behaviours in other ways 😛

    As for masculinity and femininity, I personally don’t like to look at gender in binary terms like that, but as a scale of varying degrees. I guess that’s largely because traditional gender norms are damaging to the transgender and androgynous people in my life that I care about. Rather than talking about the gifts of someone’s gender identity, I’d just like to talk about how special they are as a person in general and respect them for being them 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

     
    • Tito Tobi

      13/05/2014 at 1:36 pm

      I really appreciate your comment…I kinda understand your perspective@looking at gender as a scale of varying degrees.

      Like

       

My Dear, your thoughts worth MUCH MORE than a PENNY to me, please say it......I appreciate it and I want you to just SAY IT....

 
