RSS

The BIG Name Change Question

24 Sep

So my Mum and Dad came up with this strange topic:
They had noticed that an increasing number of newly-weds don’t either completely drop their maiden names or outrightly just don’t adopt the new husband’s name. And they were directly facing me with a question-what’s my view about it? Lemme say at this point that imma be getting married in a couple o’ months (or years), so anything I say or don’t say may be used against me on my wedding day!
As per Naija Boi that I am , I know this is a sensitive topic. So I’m standing on an egg without breaking it, if I can wriggle out of this safe.
But can a man really do anything much if you’ve married the love of your life and you eventually discovered she keeps her maiden name(maybe with your surname attached like a strange rat-tail) on her documents and even on her facebook profile.
My Mum thinks men are just being too docile,not willing to take responsibility and not putting their foot down enough.
My Dad thinks it’s also the fault of the men.
But one thing I like is that they both admitted, this issue wasn’t even a question to be asked in the days when they got married-the lady, as if on auto-pilot, changed her surname and she did it proudly.
I’m asking, will you really risk your wife’s happiness on a name-change issue and do you think men are to be blamed for a woman’s decision.
Remember, the long-standing family formular before you answer:
Happy Wife=Happy Life.

The Strange Rat-tail

The Strange Rat-tail

Check this blog for new posts by Tito Tobi on Wednesdays or Saturdays. His books are available on http://www.smashwords.com

 
2 Comments

Posted by on 24/09/2014 in General

 

Tags: , , , ,

2 responses to “The BIG Name Change Question

  1. Frances Okoro

    02/10/2014 at 7:25 am

    Wow! Your book has been published yes? That’s great!

    As for name change, I like to say that it’s each to his own. If a man is comfy with his wife not changing her name like Olu Jacobs is with Joke Silva then why not? The presence of the name doesn’t ensure that she will be a good wife to him.. the nigerian tradition accruing to this is a very serious one though, so let me just err on the side of caution and keep my mouth shut small.lol

    Like

     
    • Tito Tobi

      06/10/2014 at 8:00 am

      Great to see ur comment, Frances. LoL…My thots exactly. You know Naija tradition. Times change. People change. But Naija thinking? It never changes.
      Seriously, it’s sometimes necessary to keep the name and sometimes it’s even better to discard the name but over-all, I think the names are just getting longer.

      And yes o, I published my novel. I’m already halfway through the next book. Thanks.

      Liked by 1 person

       

My Dear, your thoughts worth MUCH MORE than a PENNY to me, please say it......I appreciate it and I want you to just SAY IT....

 
